Spendenkonto IBAN Nummer:CHF  CH20 0483 5095 4248 7100 0 •  USD  CH83 0483 5095 4248 7200 0 •  EUR  CH56 0483 5095 4248 7200 1 •  BIC Codes:Credit Suisse  CRESCHZZ80A •  Post  POFICHBEXXX

Season’s greetings!

Dear friends and supporters!

There’s a sense of magic every year when springtime arrives and nature blossoms. Birds are returning. Plants strengthen their roots and raise their heads. And the first rays of sunshine put a smile into our faces and warm our hearts.

The natural cycles of growing up and developing roots also makes the most rewarding experience at Kids of Africa. We sometimes marvel at how fast our fosterlings develop. Only yesterday, it seems, they were toddlers. Then they became kids and today, many of them are adolescent. Tomorrow they’ll stand on their own feet. This is a formative period. We are preparing them to work. Vocational- or even academic training rank high on their agendas. We can see new opportunities and challenges every day. Luckily, Kids of Africa is a fertile ground. Our kids have developed their own sense of belonging. Most discovered their own talents. As much as our foster-mothers or teachers can support them in their abilities, we believe that they can develop them more or less independently. And we can see this happening everywhere. We are grateful for this good fortune.

What’s more, when there’s springtime in Europe, the rain-season starts in Uganda. Of course, we consider rain a blessing. This is a blessed time, not only in Europe, but also in Africa. A few everyday-snapshots from our village-life may capture this.

 

Here’s a heartening experience to share with you. It’s about Abbas, the oldest of Kids of Africa’s fosterlings. When he was a teenager he wasn’t the easiest of all boys. Sometimes he could be stubborn. At other times he seemed to be searching for where he belonged. But since recently, Abbas has really grown up in a big way. He’s beginning to take responsibility. Not only for himself. He also looks out for others. He spent several weeks at our current construction site, helping build a new school. The experience has made him a more mature person. He feels the rise in social status which results from setting an example. His brothers and sisters as much as fellow-pupils look up to him. I wouldn’t have expected such a big step a year ago. But life is full of surprises. This is one of them! It is also the nicest reward we get from the next generation. It’s a reason to be grateful – to our many supporters, above all!

In this spirit, I am extending the warmest greetings to you today.

Yours ever,

Burkhard Varnholt

2018-07-23T10:06:35+02:0013. April 2018|

Spendenkonto IBAN Nummer:CHF  CH20 0483 5095 4248 7100 0 •  USD  CH83 0483 5095 4248 7200 0 •  EUR  CH56 0483 5095 4248 7200 1 •  BIC Codes:Credit Suisse  CRESCHZZ80A •  Post  POFICHBEXXX

Frühlingsgrüsse

Liebe Freunde und Förderer
 
Ist es nicht herrlich, wenn wir den Frühling spüren?! Die Natur blüht auf. Vögel kehren zurück. Pflanzen schlagen Wurzeln und strecken ihre Köpfe zur Sonne. Empfinden nicht auch wir die ersten warmen Sonnenstrahlen nicht nur auf der Haut, sondern auch im Herzen?

Der Prozess des Aufwachsens und Wurzelschlagen ist auch in Kids of Africa eine wunderbare Erfahrung. Kaum zu glauben, wie rasch das geht. Kaum waren Kinder noch Kinder, schon sind sie Jugendliche, die sich auf den Berufseinstieg vorbereiten. Das ist für sie und ihre Familien eine wichtige und wertvolle Phase. Da geht die Arbeit nicht aus. Im Gegenteil. Ihre Berufsbildung wird in den kommenden Jahren ein neues Kapitel bei Kids of Africa aufschlagen. Da gibt es viel zu tun. Glücklicherweise können wir einen fruchtbaren Boden bewirtschaften. Jedes unserer Schützlinge ist einmalig in seinen/ihren Talenten, Präferenzen und Fähigkeiten. So gut wir ihrer Individualität gerecht werden, so gut entwickeln sie sich – daran glauben wir. Und viele Fortschritte lassen glauben, auf einem guten Weg zu sein.

Was bei uns der Frühling, ist auch in Uganda eine besondere Zeit. Es ist die Zeit der einsetzenden Regen – und Regen ist bekanntlich ein Segen, zumindest für die Natur. Ein paar einfache Schnappschüsse der letzten Tage zeigen unsere Kinder bei der Arbeit, auf unserer Farm, beim Lernen, Sport und Spiel.

Von meinem jüngsten Besuch will ich noch eine schöne Begebenheit über unseren ältesten Schützling, Abbas berichten. Er war noch nie ein einfacher Junge. Er kam spät zu Kids of Africa und litt manchmal am Stigma das Waisen. Besonders während der Pubertät fand er das oft schwer. Doch seit einiger Zeit beginnt er, aktiv Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Das zu erleben, sind Sternstunden, die ich gerne erwähne. So begegnete ich Abbas vor wenigen Tagen als einem unvergleichlich reifen, jungen Mann. Welches innere Wachstum er gemacht hat! Aus eigenen Stücken übernahm er Verantwortung für Geschwister und die Pflegemutter seiner Familie. Doch noch mehr: er machte einen grossen Sprung in seiner schulischen Leistung. Last, but not least, arbeitete er einige Wochen als Maurer-Lehrling auf unserer aktuellen Schulbaustelle. Vor einem Jahr hätte ich mir das nicht vorstellen können.

Heute ist es ein grosser Schritt – als Ergebnis von vielen kleine Schritten! Dafür lohnt sich vieles! Denn Abbas ist nur einer von vielen, versteckten Helden. Er und sie senden Ihnen auf diesem Wege Dank und Frühlingsgrüsse – von Uganda nach Europa!

Ihr

Burkhard Varnholt

2018-07-23T08:39:58+00:0013. April 2018|