Skip to main content

Happy Easter

Dear friends

If I were to look back on almost twenty years of Kids of Africa and learn just one lesson, it would be this: that love is the strongest force in life and always has the last word. With this in mind, I send you warm Easter greetings. Especially on behalf of our many protégés, over a thousand scholarship holders, employees and the many people who are touched by your support. They all say: “Thank you!”

Hand, heart and mind

To be clear: even in Kids of Africa there are sometimes conflicts, disputes and things have disappeared. We don’t want to gloss over that. We all know that pious calendar slogans about love don’t change the world. Of course they do. But when we help people in existential need, when we give them courage, strength and hope through comforting words and courageous deeds, then the power of love is at work. I have often experienced this in Kids of Africa.



In Uganda, there is often existential hardship – especially for children. Since the pandemic, vicious circles have increased dramatically. When reserves are used up, when people are on the run, ill or helpless, vulnerable children are often left behind. For them – as I have seen time and time again over twenty years – there is no stronger force than love. But it requires not only words, but also deeds. When hand, heart and mind are inspired by the same love, they are unbeatable. Everywhere. We remember this on Easter Day. Also in Kids of Africa.

Happy Easter!

What remains?

Everything we have been doing at Kids of Africa for almost twenty years should also be measured in terms of sustainability. Sustainability is not everything, but it is one of our highest goals. Whether we are providing a family for our protégés or a scholarship for outsiders, it is always about helping people to help themselves.

We support vulnerable children who are among Uganda’s poorest of the poor and can stand on their own two feet. That’s what it’s all about for us. Everything. We support them to become responsible, active Ugandan citizens. So that they can develop their talents and share them with others. This is how good things can be created in the long term. But this is only possible if heart, hand and mind are guided by the same power of love.

The path of love

Once again: Easter love has nothing to do with pious calendar slogans. It expects nothing, it demands nothing and it is precisely from this that it draws existential strength. I know of no more beautiful formulation for it than that of the letter to the Corinthians (13.1-7):

“If I could speak the tongues of men and of angels, but had not love, I would be a clanging brass, a tinkling bell. 2 And if I could prophesy and know all mysteries, if I had all knowledge and a faith that moves mountains, but had not love, I would be nothing. …

… And if I used all my possessions to feed the poor, indeed if I sacrificed myself to become famous but had no love, it would be of no use to me. Love has patience. Love is kind. It knows no envy. It does not make itself important and does not puff itself up; it is not tactless and does not seek itself; it does not allow itself to be provoked and does not resent evil; it does not rejoice when injustice is done, it rejoices when the truth triumphs. She endures everything; she always believes and hopes. She endures everything.”

My warmest regards to you, also on behalf of our protégés.

Always yours

Burkhard Varnholt

Follow us on Instagram

 
 
 
 

Kids of Africa guarantees that one hundred per cent of every franc donated reaches our many protégés.

Because we believe in each of them! Thank you for your help!

Union Dental
Address in Switzerland

Kids of Africa - Association
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zurich
Switzerland

Projects
Address in Switzerland

Kids of Africa - Association
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zurich
Switzerland

Projects
Social Media

Skip to main content

Frohe Ostern

Liebe Freunde

Wenn ich im Rückblick aus fast zwanzig Jahren Kids of Africa nur eine Lehre ziehen würde, dann ist es diese: dass die Liebe im Leben die stärkste Kraft ist, stets sie das letzte Wort hat. In diesem Sinne sende ich Ihnen herzliche Ostergrüsse. Ganz besonders im Namen unserer vielen Schützlinge, über tausend Stipendiaten, Angestellten und der vielen Menschen, die von Ihrer Zuwendung berührt werden. Sie alle sagen: «Danke!»

Hand, Herz und Verstand

Um es klarzustellen: auch in Kids of Africa gibt es manchmal Konflikte, Streit, auch Dinge sind schon verschwunden. Das wollen wir nicht schönreden. Wir alle wissen: fromme Kalender-Sprüche über die Liebe verändern die Welt nicht. Klar. Aber: wenn wir Menschen in existentieller Not helfen, wenn wir ihnen Mut, Kraft und Hoffnung sowohl durch tröstende Worte und beherzte Taten schaffen, dann wirkt die Kraft der Liebe. Ich habe es in Kids of Africa oft erlebt.



In Uganda gibt es oft existenzielle Not – besonders von Kindern. Seit der Pandemie haben Teufelskreise dramatisch zugenommen. Wenn Reserven aufgebraucht, wenn Menschen auf der Flucht, krank oder ratlos sind, bleiben oft vulnerable Kinder zurück. Für sie – das habe ich in zwanzig Jahren stets gesehen – gibt es keine stärkere Kraft als die Liebe. Aber sie bedarf nicht nur der Worte, sondern auch der Taten. Wenn Hand, Herz und Verstand von derselben Liebe beseelt sind, dann sind sie unschlagbar. Überall. Daran erinnern wir uns am heutigen Ostertag. Auch in Kids of Africa.

Frohe Ostern!

Was bleibt?

Alles, was wir bei Kids of Africa seit fast zwanzig Jahren tun, soll sich auch an der Nachhaltigkeit messen. Nachhaltigkeit ist zwar nicht alles, aber sie ist eines unserer höchsten Ziele. Ob wir unseren Schützlingen eine Familie geben oder Aussenstehenden ein Stipendium schenken: stets geht es um Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe.

Wir unterstützen vulnerable Kinder, die zu Ugandas Ärmsten der Armen zählen, auf eigenen Beinen stehen können. Darum geht sich bei uns alles. Alles. Wir stützen sie, damit sie zu verantwortungsbewussten, aktiven ugandischen Bürgern/innen werden. Damit sie ihre Talente entwickeln und mit anderen teilen können. So kann dauerhaft Gutes entstehen. Aber das geht nur, wenn Herz, Hand und Verstand von derselben Kraft der Liebe gelenkt sind.

Der Weg der Liebe

Nochmals: die österliche Liebe hat nichts zu tun mit frömmelnden Kalender-Sprüchen. Sie erwartet nichts, sie fordert nichts und genau daraus schöpft sie existenzielle Kraft. Ich kenne keine schönere Formulierung für sie als jene des Korintherbriefes (13.1-7):

«Wenn ich die Sprachen von Menschen und Engeln sprechen könnte, aber keine Liebe hätte, wäre ich ein schepperndes Blech, eine lärmende Klingel. 2 Und wenn ich weissagen könnte und alle Geheimnisse wüsste; wenn ich jede Erkenntnis besäße und einen Glauben, der Berge versetzt, aber keine Liebe hätte, wäre ich nichts. …

… Und wenn ich meinen ganzen Besitz zur Armenspeisung verwendete, ja wenn ich mich selbst aufopferte, um berühmt zu werden, aber keine Liebe hätte, nützte es mir nichts. Liebe hat Geduld. Liebe ist freundlich. Sie kennt keinen Neid. Sie macht sich nicht wichtig und bläst sich nicht auf; sie ist nicht taktlos und sucht nicht sich selbst; sie lässt sich nicht reizen und trägt Böses nicht nach; sie freut sich nicht, wenn Unrecht geschieht, sie freut sich, wenn die Wahrheit siegt. Sie erträgt alles; sie glaubt und hofft immer. Sie hält allem stand.»

Ich grüsse Sie sehr herzlich, auch im Namen unserer Schützlinge.

Stets Ihr

Burkhard Varnholt

Kids of Africa verbürgt sich dafür, dass jeder gespendete Franken zu hundert Prozent bei unseren vielen Schützlingen ankommt.

Weil wir an jeden von ihnen glauben! Danke für Ihre Hilfe!

Union Dental
Adresse in der Schweiz

Kids of Africa – Verein
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zürich
Schweiz

Adresse in der Schweiz

Kids of Africa – Verein
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zürich
Schweiz

Social Media