Skip to main content

Fair friendly and firm

Dear friends

Small things can change the world. Especially if you repeat them often. A good word every day. Maybe even a good deed. We believe in it.

I am pleased to send you a short report from Kids of Africa today. There, our protégés are currently enjoying holidays with lots of sports, games and fun. Take a look for yourself. A lot of good things have happened. And about three principles of our successful teacher and director Esbern Budolfsen: “Fair, friendly and firm”.

Last but not least, I report how your help multiplies.

Sport, fun and games

The fact that sport and games are fun explains their great potential for education. Esbern Budolfsen, our director, knows this from many years of experience as a teacher. He writes: “it is impressive what development our children have made this year thanks to sports and their favourite games. Every day we run a few kilometres together in the morning. That connects, opens the mind and senses.

Afterwards, we combine work (in our farm) and eating together with fun and games. The combination works wonders. The kids are positive, proud, disciplined and even earn pocket money while working.

At the end of such a day, there is often a big game. Football for some, but also games of skill for others. Or simply some peace and quiet and a good book. Sometimes even a film evening together. There is something for everyone. That’s the simple secret of our motivation and development.” 

Quite simple really, isn’t it? Instead of many words, a few pictures speak:

Medal winner Paul

Paul, one of our protégés travelled to neighbouring Rwanda last week. The East African school sports competitions took place there this year. Even ahead of Kenya, the Ugandan teams won the most medals this year – 37 medals in total, including 17x gold, 11x silver and 9x bronze. We were particularly pleased that our Paul brought home two silver medals – from the 100 metre and 200 metre sprint. In the picture you can see Paul in the yellow national shirt and a well-known Ugandan sports editor, David, who reported on Paul’s amazing talent.

“Fair, friendly and firm”

Esbern Budolfsen, an experienced teacher, describes his principles: fair, friendly and binding. These apply to every child, promote progress and confidence, even in the face of challenges.

In the last two years, we supported over 1,000 scholarship holders at 71 different schools in Uganda. An immense task. Uganda has been in a severe poverty trap since the lockdowns. But the cost of illiteracy exceeds the price of education.

Illiteracy harms not only individuals, but also families and society as a whole. Fortunately, our scholarships make a tremendous positive impact. By saving from this fate, we are already achieving a lot.

With over 1,000 scholarship holders, how do we live up to the principle of “fair, friendly and binding”? Through a combination of culture, control and clear rules.

For example, we maintain open feedback and close contact with schools, scholarship holders and teachers. Our scholarships are limited in time and tied to obligations to cooperate. Does that work? Surprisingly well, actually.


Good, cheap, sustainable – how we calculate

We regularly look for new ways to make more out of scarce resources. That sounds calculating. True. Every family has to manage with scarce resources. We know that. Kids of Africa is also short of money at the moment. Very much so. But we are not the only ones. In Uganda, most families find it difficult to pay all their bills at the end of the month.

That is why elementary education and good vocational skills are so important to us. Because functional illiteracy leads directly to poverty. Poverty makes hungry. Hunger makes thieves. Crime creates vicious circles. That’s how it is. But vicious circles can be broken. Through education, for example.

That is why we ask ourselves every day: how can we help even more sustainably with a shilling? How do we multiply your donation? How do we make the most impact? It’s about good, cheap and sustainable.

For example: if we want to prevent functional illiteracy, we need to bring families, schools, community and policy together. To empower young people to help themselves, good skills are better than cheap diplomas. Bright role models can do more than a thousand shillings. We need to celebrate success. Because success is contagious. Promote the tried and tested. Compare costs and benefits carefully. Helping people to help themselves is more sustainable than a drop in the ocean. But nothing works without money. That is why, for twenty years, we have been constantly looking for improvements so that good help for self-help can be achieved as cheaply and sustainably as possible. 

So that your donation brings the greatest benefit. So that our protégés become role models. So that others follow them. On site, in Africa. Then their profit is also our profit. That is the greatest benefit. For them, for you and for the world we live in.

With warm greetings from over 1000 protégés in Uganda.

Yours sincerely

Burkhard Varnholt

Follow us on Instagram

 
 
 
 

Kids of Africa guarantees that one hundred per cent of every franc donated reaches our many protégés.

Because we believe in each of them! Thank you for your help!

Union Dental
Address in Switzerland

Kids of Africa - Association
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zurich
Switzerland

Projects
Address in Switzerland

Kids of Africa - Association
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zurich
Switzerland

Projects
Social Media

Skip to main content

Fair friendly and firm

Liebe Freunde

Kleine Dinge können die Welt verändern. Besonders, wenn man sie oft wiederholt. Jeden Tag ein gutes Wort. Vielleicht auch eine gute Tat. Wir glauben daran.

Ich freue mich, Ihnen heute einen kurzen Bericht von Kids of Africa zu senden. Dort geniessen unsere Schützlinge aktuell Ferien mit viel Sport, Spiel und Spass. Schauen Sie selbst. Sehr viel Gutes ist passiert. Und von drei Grundsätzen unseres erfolgreichen Lehrers und Direktors Esbern Budolfsen: «Fair, friendly and firm».

Nicht zuletzt berichte ich, wie sich Ihre Hilfe vervielfältigt.

Sport, Spass und Spiel

Dass Sport und Spiele Spass machen, erklärt ihr grosses Potenzial für Bildung. Esbern Budolfsen, unser Direktor, weiss das aus langjähriger Erfahrung als Lehrer. Er schreibt: «es ist eindrucksvoll, welche Entwicklung unsere Kinder dieses Jahr dank des Sports und ihrer liebsten Spiele gemacht haben. Jeden Tag laufen wir gemeinsam am Morgen ein paar Kilometer. Das verbindet, öffnet Geist und Sinne.

Anschliessend verbinden wir Arbeit (in unserer Farm) und gemeinsames Essen mit Spass und Spielen. Die Kombination wirkt Wunder. Die Kids sind positiv, stolz, diszipliniert und verdienen bei der Arbeit sogar ein Taschengeld.

Am Ende eines solchen Tages steht oft ein grosses Spiel. Fussball für die einen, aber auch Geschicklichkeitsspiele für die anderen. Oder einfach etwas Ruhe und ein gutes Buch. Manchmal auch ein gemeinsamer Filmabend. Es gibt für jeden etwas. Das ist das einfache Geheimnis unserer Motivation und Entwicklung.»

Eigentlich ganz einfach, oder? Anstelle vieler Worte sprechen ein paar Bilder:

Medaillengewinner Paul

Paul, einer unserer Schützlinge reiste übrigen letzte Woche ins benachbarte Ruanda. Dort fanden dieses Jahr die ostafrikanischen Schüler-Sport-Wettbewerbe statt. Noch vor Kenia konnten die ugandischen Teams dieses Jahr die meisten Medaillen gewinnen – 37 Medaillen insgesamt, davon 17x Gold, 11x Silber und 9x Bronze. Besonders gefreut hat uns, dass unser Paul gleich zwei Silbermedaillen heimbrachte – vom 100 Meter und 200 Meter-Sprint. Auf dem Bild sehen Sie Paul im gelben National-Shirt und einen bekannten, ugandischen Sport-Redakteur, David, der über Pauls erstaunliches Talent berichtete.

«Fair, freundlich und verbindlich»

Esbern Budolfsen, erfahrener Lehrer, beschreibt seine Grundsätze: fair, freundlich und verbindlich. Diese gelten für jedes Kind, fördern Fortschritt und Vertrauen, auch in Herausforderungen.

In den letzten zwei Jahren unterstützten wir über 1’000 Stipendiaten/innen an 71 verschiedenen Schulen in Uganda. Eine immense Aufgabe. Uganda steckt seit den Lockdowns in einer schweren Armutsfalle. Doch die Kosten der Unbildung übersteigen den Preis der Bildung.

Analphabetismus schadet nicht nur dem Einzelnen, sondern auch Familien und der Gesellschaft insgesamt. Glücklicherweise erzielen unsere Stipendien enorme positive Wirkung. Indem wir vor diesem Schicksal bewahren, erreichen wir bereits viel.

Wie gerecht werden bei über 1’000 Stipendiaten dem Grundsatz «Fair, freundlich und verbindlich»? Durch eine Kombination aus Kultur, Kontrolle und klaren Regeln.

Beispielsweise pflegen wir offenes Feedback und engen Kontakt zu Schulen, Stipendiaten und Lehrkräften. Unsere Stipendien sind befristet und an Mitwirkungspflichten gebunden. Funktioniert das? Erstaunlich gut sogar.


Gut, günstig, nachhaltig – wie wir rechnen

Regelmässig suchen wir neue Wege, um aus knappen Ressourcen mehr zu machen. Das kling kalkulierend. Richtig. Jede Familie muss mit knappen Mitteln haushalten. Wir kennen das. Auch Kids of Africa ist aktuell knapp bei Kasse. Sehr sogar. Aber wir sind nicht die Einzigen. In Uganda fällt es den meisten Familien schwer, am Ende des Monats alle Rechnungen zu bezahlen. Gerade deshalb sind uns elementare Bildung und gute, berufliche Fertigkeiten so wichtig. Denn funktionaler Analphabetismus führt direkt in Armut. Armut macht Hunger. Hunger macht Diebe. Kriminalität schafft Teufelskreise. So ist das. Doch man kann Teufelskreise brechen. Zum Beispiel durch Bildung.

Deshalb fragen wir uns jeden Tag: wie können wir mit einem Shilling noch nachhaltiger helfen? Wie multiplizieren wir Ihre Spende? Wie bewirken wir am meisten? Es geht um gut, günstig und nachhaltig.

Ein Beispiel: wenn wir funktionalen Analphabetismus verhindern wollen, dann müssen wir Familien, Schulen, Gemeinschaft und Politik zusammenbringen. Um junge Menschen zu befähigen, sich selbst zu helfen, sind gute Fertigkeiten besser als billige Diplome. Strahlende Vorbilder können mehr als tausend Shilling bewirken. Wir müssen Erfolge feiern. Denn Erfolg steckt an. Bewährtes fördern. Kosten und Nutzen sorgfältig vergleichen. Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe ist nachhaltiger als ein Tropfen auf heissem Stein. Aber ohne Geld geht nichts. Deshalb suchen wir seit zwanzig Jahren stets nach Verbesserungen, damit gute Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe möglichst günstig und nachhaltig gelingt.

Damit Ihre Spende den grössten Nutzen stiftet. Damit aus Schützlingen Vorbilder werden. Damit ihnen andere folgen. Vor Ort, in Afrika. Dann ist ihr Gewinn auch unser Gewinn. Das ist der grösste Gewinn. Für sie, für Sie und für die Welt, in der wir leben.
Mit herzlichen Grüssen von über 1000 Schützlingen aus Uganda.

Stets Ihr

Burkhard Varnholt

Kids of Africa verbürgt sich dafür, dass jeder gespendete Franken zu hundert Prozent bei unseren vielen Schützlingen ankommt.

Weil wir an jeden von ihnen glauben! Danke für Ihre Hilfe!

Union Dental
Adresse in der Schweiz

Kids of Africa – Verein
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zürich
Schweiz

Adresse in der Schweiz

Kids of Africa – Verein
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zürich
Schweiz

Social Media