Skip to main content

What makes us strong

Dear friends

I recently read Anne Frank’s diaries. There she writes “No one has ever become poor through giving.” The sentence gave me humble pause. Anne Frank, who – like a shooting star – gave everything for her neighbours, even her young, innocent life. She was deeply inspired by the power of love, which gives without demanding, which protects, creates and strengthens.

Sometimes – without wishing to draw a comparison with Anne Frank – I sense this strength in our protégés. Let me tell you about some of them.

Secret heroes, artists and life ambassadors

Joseph

There is Joseph, for example. He is an artist and a role model for many. When he plays the guitar and sings, you can feel his desire to talk about his inner self through music. He often sings about love. By which he doesn’t mean the spring awakening of teenagers, but the power that moves mountains, without which nothing works.

Sometimes a small group of young listeners will suddenly appear. Where does he get it from? From our director, Dorte Budolfsen? All her life she has always had a song on her lips. On Sundays she often plays songs by Joan Baez or folk songs on her veranda. Immediately a small group of children gathers around her, listening, watching and reveling. Magic Moments. Music moves and connects. Those who share it also become richer as a result.

Mary und Ian

Here are two wonderful scholars of ours – Praise Mary and Ian Akumbona. Both experienced hardship, including violence, in their childhood. They are among a total of one thousand scholarship holders who have received a full-time scholarship from us since last year. For all of them, this scholarship has changed their lives. They not only learn reading, writing, arithmetic and language. They consolidate confidence, cultivate friendships, social skills and give a lot back to their environment.

Praise Mary wants to become a nurse. She wants to help other people, just as she tried to help her parents and siblings. What she received from us in the form of a scholarship, she has already passed on many times over. How? In the form of active love, care, support. And all that, has made Mary richer. That’s what it’s all about.

Ian Akumbona has many siblings and only one grandmother who looked after him and his siblings before his scholarship. Ian is also a humble young man with a strong, inner motor. He works because he wants to give back. He knows existential hardship. Now your support will help him to help himself and others. And he will succeed. He works with diligence, empathy and a willingness to perform. He is a role model. And thus also supports his teachers, school, friends and family.

Ian Akumbona is a “giver”. One who gives because you, dear friends, have given him much – despite a bad start in life. We know this. One who gives more than he receives. One who creates positive cycles, whom giving has made richer – never poor. That’s what it’s all about.


Scholarships for the poorest of the poor

Since the near-collapse of Uganda’s school system, we at Kids of Africa have offered scholarships to about a thousand students in need. We support the most vulnerable of the poor – and more than 60 rural schools. Each scholarship makes a difference – like a stone thrown into water.

Financially, this is an enormous challenge. But the success proves her right. Every scholarship makes a lasting difference to a life. Every franc makes a difference. That’s what it’s all about. I vouch for that.


Attack on a Ugandan school

Recently, you may have read about a terrible attack on a school in Uganda. The attackers came and disappeared again into the neighbouring Republic of Congo. Life there has not been calm for years. Also because proxy conflicts support terrorists. While we were not directly affected, we were deeply shaken by the attack.


We know the region well and also support a school and scholarship holders there. Should we therefore stop our work? No. That would be the wrong answer. Especially today, the most vulnerable of the poor need love, strength and support. Even if much is out of our hands. We thank you for your help.

I wish you a good summer. With warm greetings from over 1000 protégés in Uganda.

Yours sincerely

Burkhard Varnholt

Follow us on Instagram

 
 
 
 

Kids of Africa guarantees that one hundred per cent of every franc donated reaches our many protégés.

Because we believe in each of them! Thank you for your help!

Union Dental
Address in Switzerland

Kids of Africa - Association
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zurich
Switzerland

Projects
Address in Switzerland

Kids of Africa - Association
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zurich
Switzerland

Projects
Social Media

Skip to main content

Was uns stark macht

Liebe Freunde

Kürzlich las ich in den Tagebüchern von Anne Frank. Dort schreibt sie «Niemand ist durch Geben je arm geworden.» Der Satz liess mich demütig innehalten. Anne Frank, die – einer Sternschnuppe gleich – alles für ihre Nächsten gab, sogar ihr junges, unschuldiges Leben. Sie war zutiefst beseelt von der Kraft der Liebe, die gibt, ohne zu fordern, die schützt, schafft und stärkt. 

Manchmal – ohne damit einen Vergleich zu Anne Frank zu wagen – spüre ich diese Kraft bei unseren Schützlingen. Ich will von einigen berichten.

Heimliche Helden, Künstler und L(i)ebe(n)sbotschafter

Joseph

Da ist zum Beispiel Joseph. Er ist Künstler und Vorbild für viele. Wenn er Gitarre spielt und singt, spürt man seinen Willen, mit Musik über sein Inneres zu sprechen. Oft singt er über die Liebe. Womit er nicht das Frühlingserwachen von Teenagern meint, sondern die Kraft, die Berge versetzt, ohne welche gar nichts geht.

Manchmal findet sich dann unversehens eine kleine Schar junger Zuhörer. Wo er das wohl herhat? Von unserer Direktorin, Dorte Budolfsen? Ihr ganzes Leben lang hat sie immer ein Lied auf den Lippen. Sonntags spielt sie oft auf ihrer Veranda Lieder von Joan Baez oder Volkslieder. Sofort schart sich dann eine kleine Gruppe von Kindern um sie, die hört, schaut und schwelgt. Magic Moments. Musik bewegt und verbindet. Wer sie teilt, wird dadurch auch reicher.

Mary und Ian

Hier sind zwei wunderbare Stipendiaten von uns – Praise Mary und Ian Akumbona. In ihrer Kindheit erlebten beide Not, auch Gewalt. Sie zählen zu den insgesamt tausend Stipendiaten, die seit letztem Jahr von uns ein Vollzeitstipendium erhalten. Ihnen allen hat dieses Stipendium ihr Leben verändert. Sie lernen nicht nur Lesen, Schreiben, Rechnen und Sprache. Sie festigen Vertrauen, pflegen Freundschaften, Sozialkompetenz und geben an ihr Umfeld viel zurück.

Praise Mary will Krankenschwester werden. Sie will anderen Menschen helfen, so wie sie versucht hat, ihren Eltern und Geschwistern zu helfen. Was sie von uns in Form eines Stipendiums erhielt, hat sie bereits um ein Vielfaches weitergegeben. Wie das? In Form von tatkräftiger Liebe, Zuwendung, Unterstützung. Und all das, hat Mary reicher gemacht. Genau darum geht es.

Ian Akumbona hat viele Geschwister und nur eine Grossmutter, die vor seinem Stipendium zu ihm und seinen Geschwistern schaute. Auch Ian ist ein bescheidener junger Mann mit einem starken, inneren Motor. Er arbeitet, weil er zurückgeben will. Er kennt existenzielle Not. Nun hilft Ihre Unterstützung, damit er sich und anderen helfen kann. Und das wird ihm gelingen. Mit Fleiss, Empathie und Leistungsbereitschaft arbeitet er. Er ist ein Vorbild. Und unterstützt damit auch seine Lehrer, Schule, Freunde und Familie.

Ian Akumbona ist ein «Geber». Einer, der gibt, weil Sie, liebe Freunde, ihm viel geschenkt haben – trotz eines schlechten Starts ins Leben. Wir kennen das. Einer, der mehr gibt als erhält. Einer, der positive Kreisläufe schafft, den das Geben reicher – nie arm gemacht hat. Genau darum geht es.


Stipendien für die Ärmsten der Armen

Seit dem Fast-Kollaps von Ugandas Schulsystem haben wir bei Kids of Africa für etwa tausend hilfsbedürftige Schüler Stipendien ausgelobt. Wir unterstützen die Vulnerabelsten der Armen – und mehr als 60 ländliche Schulen. Jedes Stipendium zieht Kreise – wie ein Stein, den wir ins Wasser werfen.

Finanziell uns ist das eine enorme Herausforderung. Doch der Erfolg gibt ihr Recht. Jedes Stipendium verändert ein Leben nachhaltig. Jeder Franken kommt an. Auch darum geht es. Dafür verbürge ich mich.


Anschlag auf eine ugandische Schule

Kürzlich haben Sie vielleicht von einem furchtbaren Anschlag auf eine Schule in Uganda gelesen. Die Attentäter kamen und verschwanden wieder in die benachbarte Republik Kongo. Dort kommt das Leben seit Jahren nicht zur Ruhe. Auch, weil Stellvertreterkonflikte Terroristen unterstützen. Während wir nicht unmittelbar betroffen waren, hat uns der Anschlag zutiefst erschüttert.


Wir kennen die Region gut, fördern auch dort eine Schule und Stipendiaten. Sollten wir deshalb unsere Arbeit einstellen? Nein. Das wäre die falsche Antwort. Gerade heute benötigen die Vulnerabelsten der Armen Liebe, Kraft und Unterstützung. Auch, wenn vieles nicht in unseren Händen liegt. Wir danken Ihnen für Ihre Hilfe.

Ich wünsche Ihnen einen guten Sommer. Mit herzlichen Grüssen von über 1000 Schützlingen aus Uganda.

Stets Ihr

Burkhard Varnholt

Kids of Africa verbürgt sich dafür, dass jeder gespendete Franken zu hundert Prozent bei unseren vielen Schützlingen ankommt.

Weil wir an jeden von ihnen glauben! Danke für Ihre Hilfe!

Union Dental
Adresse in der Schweiz

Kids of Africa – Verein
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zürich
Schweiz

Adresse in der Schweiz

Kids of Africa – Verein
Schiffbaustrasse 12
8005 Zürich
Schweiz

Social Media